Remdesivir for export from Gilead approved plants.

Gilead has signed non-exclusive voluntary licensing agreements with generic pharmaceutical manufacturers based in Egypt, India and Pakistan to further expand supply of remdesivir. The agreements allow the companies – Cipla Ltd.; Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories Ltd.; Eva Pharma; Ferozsons Laboratories; Hetero Labs Ltd.; Jubilant Lifesciences; Mylan; Syngene, a Biocon company; and Zydus Cadila Healthcare Ltd. – to manufacture remdesivir for distribution in 127 countries. The countries consist of nearly all low-income and lower-middle income countries, as well as several upper-middle- and high-income countries that face significant obstacles to healthcare access. The regulatory approval status of remdesivir varies by country, and the distribution of remdesivir within each country listed below is subject to local laws and regulations.

Under the licensing agreements, the companies have a right to receive a technology transfer of the Gilead manufacturing process for remdesivir to enable them to scale up production more quickly. The licensees also set their own prices for the generic product they produce. The licenses are royalty-free until the World Health Organization declares the end of the Public Health Emergency of International Concern regarding COVID-19, or until a pharmaceutical product other than remdesivir or a vaccine is approved to treat or prevent COVID-19, whichever is earlier.

The agreements permit distribution in the following countries:

Afghanistan Fiji Nigeria
Algeria Gabon Pakistan
Angola Gambia, The Palau
Anguilla Georgia Panama
Antigua & Barbuda Ghana Papua New Guinea
Armenia Grenada Philippines
Aruba Guatemala Rwanda
Azerbaijan Guinea Samoa
Bahamas Guinea Bis Sao Tome and Principe
Bangladesh Guyana Senegal
Barbados Haiti Seychelles
Belarus Honduras Sierra Leone
Belize India Sint Maarten (Dutch part)
Benin Indonesia Solomon Islands
Bermuda Jamaica Somalia
Bhutan Kazakhstan South Africa
Botswana Kenya South Sudan
British Virgin Islands Kiribati Sri Lanka
Burkina Faso Korea, Dem. People’s Rep. (North Korea) St. Kitts and Nevis
Burundi Kyrgyzstan St. Lucia
Cambodia Lao DR (Laos) St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Cameroon Lesotho Sudan
Cape Verde Liberia Suriname
Cayman Island Libya Tajikistan
Central Af R. Madagascar Tanzania
Chad Malawi Thailand
Comoros Maldives Timor-Leste
Congo DR Mali Togo
Congo Rep. Marshall Islands Tonga
Cook Islands Mauritania Trinidad & Tobago
Costa Rica Mauritius Tunisia
Cote d’Ivoire Micronesia, Fed. Sts. Turkmenistan
Cuba Moldova Turks & Caicos
Curacao Mongolia Tuvalu
Djibouti Montserrat Uganda
Dominica Morocco Ukraine
Dominican Republic Mozambique Uzbekistan
Egypt Myanmar Vanuatu
El Salvador Namibia Vietnam
Equatorial Guinea Nauru Zambia
Eritrea Nepal Zimbabwe
Eswatini (Swaziland) Nicaragua
Ethiopia Niger